Initiated in 2018 by the Chinese Media Group of Singapore Press Holdings (SPH) and co-organised by Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre (SCCC), The Singapore Creator Awards (SCA) invite designers – both aspiring and professional – to submit innovative and applicable ideas that celebrate the unique characteristics of the Singapore lifestyle, culture or heritage.

The 2021 edition takes the theme of ‘New Normal New Designs’, which invites participants to reimagine innovative designs that makes our new normal better. And it is more inclusive than ever. Here are five reasons why you should submit your best ideas:

1. Open to both design professionals and enthusiasts

The Awards are open to Singapore citizens, permanent residents and foreigners based in Singapore with and without design experiences. There are two main award categories:

  • The Aspiring Designer category for non-practitioners and novices with a passion for creativity, including design students, students from other fields, graduates taking first steps to a career in design, and design hobbyists.
  • The Established Designer category for experienced professionals who have worked in the industry for more than three years, have an established design practice or have received recognition from design awards.

2. More inclusive than ever with a new category

The SCA 2021 has partnered with SG Enable, an agency dedicated to enabling persons with disabilities, to launch the Inclusive Design Award, a special category that focuses on designs of products that facilitate inclusion and accessibility, and can be utilised by users with and without disabilities. 

For the 2021 edition, the Inclusive Design Award focuses on designs that promote a disability-inclusive F&B environment. 

Making an online reservation, arriving at and leaving a restaurant, ordering, dining and making payment are all part of a dining-out experience.

For the 2021 edition, the Inclusive Design Award focuses on designs that promote a disability-inclusive F&B environment. 

While these seem routine and relatively manageable to most consumers, each task could pose a potential barrier to persons with disabilities. What if we considered how we could design systems, interfaces, environments or communications that are accessible to all?

This could cover designs of digital systems and interfaces, physical fittings and environment, human communication and interaction, or even systemic approaches which string together these different aspects of design and use.  Apart from a cash prize of $5,000, the winning design stands a chance to be piloted in a real F&B environment should it be deemed adoptable.

Igloohome Smart Padlock, winner of the Gold Award for Lifestyle Product in SCA 2019

3. Attractive prize packages

SCA winners will receive prize packages worth $23,000 plus coverage across various media outlets in SPH family.

Aspiring Designer Category Prizes
  • Merit: $500
  • Bronze: $1,000
  • Silver: $2,000
  • Gold: $3,000
Established Designer Category Prizes
  • Merit: $500
  • Bronze: $2,000
  • Silver: $3,000
  • Gold: $6,000
Established Designer Category Prizes
  • $5,000
New Potential Star Prizes

Finalists who qualify for the ‘New Potential Star’ accolade will be selected to join the incubator programme organised by the Institute of Innovation and Entrepreneurship(IIE), Singapore Management University.

4. Exciting public participatory judging process

Like any prestigious design competition, SCA 2021 will be judged a panel of esteemed jurors comprising prominent figures in the creative fields as well as related industries, many of whom were recipients of President’s Design Award, Singapore’s highest accolade for design industry.

But staying true to its inclusive mission, the judging process also involves a public online voting. After the Preliminary Judging that assesses the online submissions and the Final Judging in which finalists submit their prototypes, there will be a round of Public Online Voting for the finalists’ works, which makes up 20 per cent of the total score.

Nursery Rhymes Stamp collection, winner of the Golden Award for Graphic Design in SCA 2019 by Andy Koh features well-loved nursery rhymes popular among the multicultural young children in Singapore.

5. No submission fee

Yes. It is totally free to submit your entries to SCA 2021. Participants may enter their work in either one of the two categories (plus the new Inclusive Design category). Each participant is allowed to submit up to three entries.

There are no age restrictions for either the Established Designer or Aspiring Designer Category. But if you are below the age of 18 as of 01 January 2021, you are required to obtain your legal guardian/parent’s written consent and agreement to your participation in the Competition as stipulated in the Terms and Conditions.

So, what are you waiting for?

Entries close on 20 May 2021!

There are still time to pour your thoughts into a concept and submit via online via the Submit Now tab on Singapore Creator Awards 2021’s official website.