(Photo: Cristobal Palma)

Alejandro Aravena of Chile has been awarded the 2016 Pritzker Architecture Prize.

He becomes the 41st laureate of the Pritzker Prize, the first Pritzker Laureate from Chile, and the fourth from Latin America, after Luis Barragán (1980), Oscar Niemeyer (1988), and Paulo Mendes da Rocha (2006).

He practices architecture as an artful endeavour in private commissions and in designs for the public realm and epitomises the revival of a more socially engaged architect.

Aravena has completed remarkable buildings at the esteemed Universidad Católica de Chile in Santiago.

Mathematics School, 1999, Universidad Católica de Chile, Santiago, Chile 
(Photo: Tadeuz Jalocha)

Since 2001, Aravena has been executive director of the Santiago-based ELEMENTAL, a “Do Tank,” as opposed to a think tank, whose partners are Gonzalo Arteaga, Juan Cerda, Victor Oddó, and Diego Torres . ELEMENTAL focuses on projects of public interest and social impact, including housing, public space, infrastructure, and transportation.

Siamese Towers, 2005, San Joaquin Campus, Universidad Católica de Chile, Santiago, Chile 
(Photo: Cristobal Palma)

St. Edward's University Dorms, 2008, Austin, Texas, USA
(Photo: Cristobal Palma)

Villa Verde Housing, 2013, Constitucion, Chile 

For more images, videos, and information, visit pritzkerprize.com.